Weekly Blog April 10, 2017-April 17, 2017

This evening I had the blessing of participating as a moderator for the Chamber of Commerce’s Candidate Forum for the local elections in May. This experience has been so incredible. I will moderate the forum for school district trustees this Wednesday. However, as of tonight, I can already say that I have loved every bit of this experience.

Leading up to tonight’s City Council and Mayoral forum, I researched the candidates’ questionnaire responses, press releases, and websites. In doing this, I learned how to synthesize information to best understand their positions on multiple issues. After I developed an understanding of each candidate, I used my previous research regarding local and state issues and debates to formulate different questions in for the candidates. This provided me with a unique opportunity to combine my previous knowledge with new research, as well as my personal concerns.

Writing the questions for these candidate forums was an impactful experience. However, participating in the forum tonight was an unbelievable opportunity. Before the forum began, I met with many of the candidates, which greatly helped me learn how to professionally communicate with political figures. Throughout the evening, I needed to maintain a calm and professional tone and demeanor. Doing so helped teach me how to better address and communicate with candidates for productive discussion. I am looking forward to participating as a moderator for the school board candidate forum on Wednesday, and I am incredibly thankful for this opportunity.

