Weekly Blog March 27, 2017-April 3, 2017

As I continue making progress on my research paper, I have learned the difficulties in conducting research related to a popular topic in the legislature. Currently, I am drafting a section of my case study that analyzes the political probability of the education finance systems in question. Last week, I began taking notes and outlining this analysis. However, before I could begin typing, the Senate passed a new budget proposal.

Through this experience, I learned the volatility of politics. This has shown me how important it is to keep up with political changes and updates, along with conducting research regarding historical and current policies. I believe that I learned the connectivity between policy and politics, and how one cannot exist without considering and working with the other. As I continue my final product and career pursuit in public policy, I now understand that I need to analyze the political probability a policy proposal holds.

In the short term, I hope to effectively synthesize current votes and actions in the Texas legislature with my research regarding the merits and weaknesses of policy proposals. I believe that this will greatly strengthen my case study, as it provides my analysis with meaningful impacts. Additionally, as I continue research in college and my future career, I believe that this will help me tremendously.

Leave a Reply

