Weekly Blog March 14, 2017-March 20, 2017

This past week I have been working on my research and evaluation regarding possible systems to finance public education. As I work on my final product, I find myself constantly doing more research, even when I thought I had enough. While this is common for many projects, I noticed that I had to do even more research than planned when I decided to incorporate political probability in my judgement of the finance systems I analyze. With the Texas legislature in session, this has kept me on my toes. As I continue to draft my research paper, I constantly find myself checking the news for updates on Dan Huberty’s proposed House Bill 21, Senate and House budget proposals, as well as bills regarding local control, such as Senate Bill 2. However, I think researching current events in the politics related to public education finance is incredibly beneficial to my research for this project, as well as my future studies in public policy.

As I met with my mentor this week, we discussed the stalemate in the legislature regarding education finance reform. In this conversation, I realized that the best policy proposal is not always considered when passing reforms. This is because of politics and the common ambition of reelection. After this discussion, I started to contemplate how compromises, partisanship, and slash-and-burn campaign strategies appear to the public during campaigns and how they affect the public when such policies are actually enacted.

Leave a Reply

