Weekly Blog January 16, 2017-January 23, 2017

            This week has been incredible and incredibly busy. As I went home after the Research Showcase on Wednesday night, I began to think about how much I have learned so far in ISM. Having discussed my research with friends, teachers, and guests, I realized that I have learned so much about public policy. As I was setting up my display board for the Research Showcase, I was worried about how much I had left to learn before even being able to think about my final product. However, by the end of the night, I realized that there is still so much ahead of me, but that I have learned so many invaluable lessons about public policy.

Along with the Research Showcase, I spent the past week following the Texas legislature’s movements regarding public school finance and Betsy DeVos’ Senate confirmation hearing. While I am still brainstorming ideas for my final product, I have been using current policy discussions to help me discover where I stand on different issues. Recently, this has been challenging. As I pursue research regarding public school finance, I have found many sources from opposing sides. While researching both sides of the issues, I find myself struggling to adhere to one side entirely. This has led me to want to use my final product not only to study education policy, but also to use my project to help me find a legislative middle ground that serves both sides of the issue.

 

Below are pictures from the Research Showcase.

