Weekly Blog January 10, 2017-January 16, 2017

            I have spent this past week balancing the stress and time management of midterms, a debate tournament, and final preparations for the research showcase. There were many points during the week where I felt overwhelmed. I quickly learned that no matter how much I tried to schedule my evenings, things would change.

As I worked on my display board, this lesson really clicked with me. What I believed I could accomplish in thirty minutes resulted in an hour and a half of work. I struggled with organizing my display board to be informational, yet still visually appealing. Through countless attempts at trial and error, I managed to produce a professional and appealing board.

When I look back at my week, I first remember the chaos that was my planner. However, as I reflect upon what I have learned in the past few days, I realize that I have learned an incredibly useful skill. While not every week in my future will be as busy as this past one, they will all present different scheduling challenges. This past week, I learned the importance of having a plan. However, I learned that it was even more important to have a plan that is adaptable and flexible.

