Weekly Blog October 10-October 16, 2016

At the beginning of this week, I sent out a survey for my original research project for ISM. Watching the results update has been incredibly interesting. In the survey, I ask questions regarding political alignment, efficiency of elected officials, and presidential candidates’ social media. With the survey only open to millennials (people born in or between 1982 to 2002), I have found it interesting to compare my results with the millennial outreach from the current presidential candidates.

One of my questions asks “How does Hillary Clinton’s social media presence shape your opinion of her?” and allows the survey-taker to check all of the applicable responses. The same question is repeated for Donald Trump. The responses for both questions include, how the candidate’s posts have influenced the survey-taker’s personal opinions, support for the candidate, as well as reactions regarding the candidate’s care for public opinion. While the results have been widely different between the two candidates, I have found it intriguing how “His/her posts have increased my support for him/her,” has been selected by 17.4% of survey respondents when asked about both candidates on social media.

This has led me to ask myself many questions. How can people see the same online accounts in different perceptions? How much does a candidate’s millennial support depend on their social media presence? What do candidate’s need to do in order to ensure their online accounts have positive impacts?

While I addressed the former question in my most recent research assessment, I have not yet pursued answers to the first two. I plan on using this survey for my original work. However, as I continue to send it to more and more people, the responses I have received are guiding me through what political topics I should research further.

 

If you were born in or between the years 1982 and 2002, please take the mentioned survey. You can find it here: Millennial Influence on Public Policy

