Weekly Blog September 19 – September 25, 2016

It has been a fairly quiet week in ISM. Every time I turn on the news, though, the world around me has had the opposite of a fairly quiet week.

At the beginning of the week, most reporters were covering the Charlotte and Tulsa shootings, as well as more athletes taking a knee for the national anthem, but as the week progressed, their words began drifting more and more towards the presidential debate on Monday night. As someone incredibly interested in politics and debate, I have been listening to podcasts, watching the news, and reading opinion articles regarding the presidential debate whenever I have had the chance. Imagine how much I will be reading about it after it actually happens.

With my research from ISM so far, my attitude going into this debate is different than it was the weeks leading up to each debate during the primary season. I still care about the substance of the debate, how the moderators approach topics, and what the candidates say. However, now I am looking forward to the responses and polls following the debate more than the debate itself.

I have learned that public response and opinion are incredibly important in policy-making and governing. While I have always known that we live in a democratic republic, a government by the people, the magnitude of the power the people have has resonated with me. Through my research, it has become very clear that national political themes and issues trickle down into state and local communities. As I start this next week, I have to admit that I am excited to observe how people react to what the candidates say on Monday, and how it relates to the political atmosphere in my community.

